Story of the Day

The Life of a Lost Girl. The Story of How She Found Herself.

Living Rich

rich-vs-poorIt’s weird to think that I’m excited about a $30 shopping spree. I’m like “YES! I’m rich!” when in reality that used to just buy me one shirt. It was only a few years ago when I would spend at least $100 a month on clothes, now thirty dollars seems like a lot over the course of a couple months.

Being poor puts your life into perspective. How you lived before, you didn’t fully appreciate everything you had. You could just throw money away and you probably wouldn’t have even noticed. Now…I’m thankful for every dollar I have.

Being rich isn’t all it’s racked up to be. Sure you can buy fancy cars, get your hair done every other week, and maybe get your manicure done for the fifteenth time that month. But do you learn anything from being rich? I don’t think so, not until you’ve stooped to the bottom and experienced what its like to just scrape by, hoping you can have enough to put food in your belly.

rich-vs-poor 2I know almost everyone wants to be rich and/or famous, with the nice houses, the pools and hot tubs, not needing to worry about food or clothes…

But honestly, all I want is to be able to support myself, and in the future, to give my kids what they need, and a little more. I don’t need a BMW or a half a million dollar house. What I need is to know that I will be able to take care of myself and live a happy life. And I know with God in my heart and Jesus pulling me by the hand, I’ll do just that.

Have a little faith, appreciate what you have, and love the people who are in your life now, because it won’t always be this way. Nothing lasts forever.

Love,

A. Willow

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment