Story of the Day

The Life of a Lost Girl. The Story of How She Found Herself.

Late is the Hour

4821990613_b77a92ab40_bLate is the hour, from which I stand,

and yet, sleep does not take me to its land.

I curl upon the shores of my bed,

Dreading the time,

Wishing I were dead.

*

Then a note sounds in the distance,

I hear a stranger noise- insistent.

The bells are tolling,

And ringing in my head

No other form of worry

but dread.

*

For the time is late, and the bell keeps tolling,

Forcing my brain to spin in a jury.

Arguments arise, as I try to shut my eyes,

And yet no agreement shall come to rise.

The battle begins as I scream and shout

“You’re doing it wrong,

Now just shut up!”

Yet their voices shout back in my head,

never dulling for the words I spent.

*

Hours pass, or maybe days,

yet the night is still dark

like a haze.

The bells have stopped,

the yelling ceased,

and yet I’m exhausted.

I think it’s time to sleep…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment